I have been seeing hits from msn and live.com searches with FORM=LVSP and FORM=LIVSOP vars. The keywords did not relate to my site and when i followed the search referrals my site did not rank in the search results. The IP of the search visitor came from a microsoft IP block and i figured out its a test they are running or that someone has hacked one of their servers and is fooling around.
I searched and searched and didn’t find any answer why this stupid bot is spamming my log files. Until today. exposureonline.com pointed to a www.webmasterworld.com thread:
msndude says:
Thanks for all the feedback on this thread.
First, we appreciate the concerns and issues that have been raised and apologize for any incovenience this might have caused.
Second, we want to explain what this is all about. The traffic you are seeing is part of a quality check we run on selected pages. While we work on addressing your conerns, we would request that you do not actively block the IP addreses used by this quality check; blocking these IP addresses could prevent your site from being included in the Live Search index.
Please keep the feedback and thoughts coming as we will use this to help improve this process and make sure that it impacts your sites as little as possible.
MSN search team are Idiots and Clueless. MSN traffic was always lousy even when ranking in top places for our search terms. Webmasters should block msnbot altogether… waist of traffic.









